The Bag Lady Solution

Photo Credit: ryanmcginnisphoto via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: ryanmcginnisphoto via Compfight cc

With no disrespect to this lady or to homelessness intended, this is what I look like on the days I go to crossfit. I am carrying:

  • My gym bag – a large, over-the-shoulder, traditional sports bag
  • My handbag – this is also fairly large as it needs to accommodate the usual lady accoutrements in addition toΒ hat, gloves and umbrella now that winter has struck our fair city
  • My cooler bag – our office canteen doesn’t cater to coeliacs and they definitely don’t have paleo options (think dumplings, schnitzels and kaiserschmarrn), so I bring a Lunchbot full of leftovers each day and usually some nuts or berries or other fruit

It’s hard to get on and off peak hour trains with this load. I’m constantly getting stuck between people or caught in a tangle of my own straps. Not to mention it’s damn hot on the trains too. God help me if I try to shuck the bags and wriggle out of my heavy coat. I usually end up groping someone or copping a sharp shove to the back. And if I ride my bike to the station, it acts like a stubborn pack mule and tries to shake me off at every turn.

My question is – has anyone else found a good solution to this? Anyone else suffering from bag lady syndrome and managed to find one way to carry all these things? I was thinking of a rucksack/backpack, but the only ones I’ve found lack an insulated pocket for the food I need to bring.

Can anyone, anywhere offer some advice?

4 thoughts on “The Bag Lady Solution

  1. Yup! Been there, totally. I was carrying a purse large enough to count as airline carry-on luggage plus a canvas bag every day and it was killing my back and shoulders. What I did was switch to carrying a well made backpack with lots of pockets and a small cross-body purse. (I tried to find a link to the pack since it’s from LL Bean but evidently they’ve stopped making this style) I find that I can get damn near everything I need for a work day crammed into the pack.

    You may also want to evaluate what you’re considering “essential” to carry back and forth every day. Are there things that you keep in your purse now that perhaps you could leave in your desk at the office? Are there lockers at the gym where you do crossfit where you could leave things like your shoes or other items that can be used multiple times without being washed?

    One of the things that I’ve done to help eliminate the need to buy food at work is bring in my own small fridge for my office. That way I can keep my leftovers cold along with yogurt and fruit and beverages. I tend to stock up once a week and then not have to worry about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh, so many goodies in here. I had never thought about leaving stuff at crossfit, but now that you mention it there is a rack that houses lots of shoes. I will ask next time I’m there if i can leave them. That will save a fair bit of space in the bag. And I think you’re right – I’m going to have to invest in a backpack. My birthday is coming up in a few months…maybe I can ask for it then.
      As for food, I do keep some things in the office – my salt, my vinegar, some nuts etc. But mostly I bring fresh stuff from home which I need to either keep warm or cool. But if I’m ditching the shoes, this might replace the room they’d have taken up in a backpack.
      Thanks!! I’m off to torture myself looking on sports websites! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think a back pack would be an excellent investment. Also too if there are lockers in the gym, you could leave items there such as water bottle, shoes and toiletries. This would save you carrying them back and forth. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

